Silvio Savarese

Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Michigan
1301 Beal Avenue, Room 4435
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2122
Tel: (734) 647 8136

Postdoctoral researchers


Roni Mittelman

Postdoctoral researchers
rmittelm at umich dot edu

Graduate members


Wongun Choi

PhD candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
wgchoi at umich dot edu

Byung Soo Kim

PhD candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
bsookim at umich dot edu

Yu-Wei Chao

PhD candidate
Computer Science, Umich
ywchao at umich dot edu

Sid Ying-Ze Bao

PhD candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
yingze at umich dot edu

Changkyu Song

PhD candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
changkyu at umich dot edu

Yu Xiang

PhD candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
yuxiang at umich dot edu

Zhen Zeng

PhD candidate
EE, Umich
zengzhen at umich dot edu

Jie Li

MSE candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
ljlijie at umich dot edu

Taewon Kim

MSE candidate
EE:Systems, Umich
vorton at umich dot edu

Undergaduate members

Visiting or affiliated members

  • Lorenzo Seidenari, Postdoc, University of Florence, Italy
  • Laura Leal-Taixe, PhD candidate, Institute for Information Processing (TNT), Leibniz University Hannover, Germany
  • Yali Li, PhD candidate, Department of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University, China
  • Giorgio Gemignani, PhD candidate, Department of Applied Science, University of Naples Parthenope, Italy
  • Axel Furlan, PhD candidate, University of Milan - Bicocca, Italy
  • Valeria Garro, PhD candidate, University of Verona, Italy
  • Roberto Javier Lopez-Sastre, PhD, Dept. Signal Theory and Communications, U of Alcala
  • Grace Tsai, PhD candidate, CSE, Umich
  • Paritosh Gupta, PhD candidate, EE:Systems, Umich
  • Gaurav Pandey, PhD candidate, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, Umich
  • Jason Clemons, PhD candidate, CSE, Umich

Faculty Collaborators


  • Min Sun, 2013, PhD, Umich (Postdoc researcher in the computer vision group at U of Washington at Seattle)
  • Wan Huang, 2013, MSc CSE, Umich (CNSI)
  • Ryan ToKola, 2013, MSc ECE, Umich (Oak Ridge National Labratory)
  • Ishan Mittal, 2012, MSc CSE, Umich
  • Shili Xu, 2012, MSc CSE, Umich (Qualcomm)
  • John Scheible, 2012, MSc CSE, Umich
  • Shen Wang, 2012, MSc ECE, Umich
  • Nick Genise, 2012 Summer, Undergraduate Research Program, Umich
  • Hsiu-Ting Hsieh, 2012, MSc ECE, Umich
  • Neerad Phansalkar, 2012, MSc ECE, Umich
  • Murali Telaprolu, 2012, MSc ECE, Umich (Bloomberg)
  • Yi-Hsuan Tsai, 2012, MSc ECE, Umich (PhD Student at UC Merced)
  • Mohit Bagra, 2011, MSc CSE, Umich (Microsoft)
  • Sunny Arora, 2011 Summer, MSc EE:Systems, Umich
  • Giovanni Zhang, 2011 Summer, Undergraduate Research Program, Umich
  • Stephanie Gillespie, 2011 Summer, Undergraduate Research Program, U of Miami
  • Jingen Liu, Postdoc researcher, 2010 - 2011 (SRI-Sarnoff)
  • Yan Qi, 2009-2011, MSc, ECE, Umich (Graduate Student, Computer Science, CMU)
  • Shyam Sunder Kumar, 2009-2011, MSc, ECE, Umich (Amazon)
  • Fisher Fu Yu, 2009-2011, MSc, ECE, Umich (PhD Student, Computer Science, Princeton University)
  • Anush Mohan, 2009-2011, MSc, ECE, Umich (Cognex)
  • Thomas Chen, 2010 Summer, Undergraduate Research Program, Umich
  • Mani Golparvar-Fard , 2006-2010, PhD, Civil and Environmental Eng., UIUC (Assistant Professor at Virginia Tech)
  • Khuram Shahid, 2009-2010, MSc, ECE, Umich  (Microsoft)
  • Liang Mei, 2008-2010, MSc, ECE, Umich  (Microsoft)
  • Sai Sankalp Arrabolu, 2008-2010, MSc, ECE, Umich
  • Ryan Amundsen, 2008-2010, MSc, EE:Systems, Umich (Electrical Computer Systems Engineer, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory)
  • Nader Awni, 2006-2010, BS, LSA, Umich
  • Bhargav Avasarala, 2008-2010, MSc, EE:Systems, Umich
  • Bing-Xin Xu, 2006-2010, BS, Aerospace Engineering, Umich (now at The MathWorks)
  • Matteo Mannino, 2008-2009, MSc, ECE, Umich
  • Harini Eavani, 2008-2009, MSc, EE:Systems, Umich
  • Andrey Del Pozo, 2007-2008, MSc, UIUC

Created by Wen Cui / Graphics by Laura Leal-Taixe’ / Webmaster: Yingze Bao